Make your own research tool

I have described the chart below that depicts my use of ConnectedText (CT) for qualitative data analysis as representing a “conceptual model” and “a process flow.” But these terms don’t quite get the idea across that in fact CT had allowed me to construct my very own data analysis machine.

Once you have the basic structure and the logic of this system set up in CT, it works almost like a “sausage machine” with some filters put in. All you need to do is start pumping your empirical data in at Step 1, and as long as you follow the procedure and apply your theoretical filters during the abstraction process, the machine guides you through the production of some “truths,” i.e. your qualitative findings, the answers to your research question.

This brings me back to my earlier points (here and here) about why I prefer to do my qualitative analysis in CT, rather than in Atlas.ti or NVivo. There is no question that those other two dedicated CAQDAS software have more data analysis features and capabilities than CT. However, CT trumps them in one regard hands down: rather than just allowing you to analyse your data, it in effect allows you to create and operate your very own research tools, such as my “idea-sausage machine” below.

Check out my tutorial here, if you are interested in creating your own research tool.

One thought on “Make your own research tool

  1. Pingback: Abstraction through extraction | Dr Andus's toolbox

Leave a Reply

